Questions

Oh My, what’s it’s been? A month? 2? Oh well, what does it matter? I am here now, aren’t I? Gosh, Too many questions. I guess that could suffice as the perfect topic considering the content of today’s blog post but I leave you to be the judge of that.

NYSC! “Go, my dear. Serve your country. You will need the certificate for the future to get a job.” Yeah, right. I heeded those words. Not words of lies, but words of a clichè repeated over and over again to millions of youth to actually have some sort of hope for significance. 7 months and counting and I am left wondering, “What’s the purpose of this?” There you go. First question. “Questions” might end up being very much suitable.

surrealistic_collage_by_elen_tea-d747qmsTravelling outside where you have been for a while can be very therapeutic. The cage of Lagos was tiresome. So, the Kebbi experience was swell. Hot, but swell nonetheless. Coming to Ibadan was a deliberate choice to avoid staying close to home. Its alright, don’t skewer me, I know Ibadan is still close enough, but not as the “intended”(if you know, you know) Ogun. Ibadan: The Ancient city, the city of many firsts aroused excitement in me and my mind was overflowing with excess expectations. I had day fantasies of how I was going to spend my 11 months. It seemed like the perfect holiday getaway. Oh well.

surrealistic-landscape-with-yellow-birch-and-full-moon-jan-keteleerThis programme might probably be the best thing the Nigerian Government may have thought of on their own. I mean, Kudos to whoever brought the idea. Meeting people of different ethnicities, learning other languages and cultures gives off quite a thrill. Like every idea, without revision or fresh perspectives, it remains an artifact of ancient history relying on the promises of the old days and can definitely not relate to the matters of the present day. So, it’s simple. The programme doesn’t know how to help us in this era. So, if by some chance, someone in the higher ups reads this, do well to align the programme to solving errors of the 21st century Nigerian society.

ScenarioMaybe because I came from Lagos, but I think some heard a different purpose for the programme. “NYSC is to flex and enjoy your life.” I keep asking myself, “How exactly do I do that?” “How do I keep calm, spending money that I don’t have excess of and even a limited supply of?” “How do the others do it?” I mean, once 19,800 stops, what do I have going for me? Isn’t that what the others are thinking of? Honestly, it remains a puzzle for me. All I keep finding myself doing is constantly thinking of how to get a job or some work, thinking of how I would live after NYSC. It’s worse because the future I keep thinking of is not in the location I am currently in. I mean, how do I think of jobs in a place I am not? The questions will keep coming though.

My simple guide is that in time, it will all make sense, I think. I just need to do the needful one step at a time.

Maybe “Questions” would work as a title. If not, you could suggest one for me. I am open to.

4 thoughts on “Questions

  1. Hmmmm… This is truly a lifestyle experience. It’s really nice. Keep it up.

    Like

  2. As a lot of made men and inspirational speakers says “write your goals down/ plans and follow them bit by bit “
    LIE ……….. It never works that way in what they have made of my country as of today. Just keep trying anything you can be comfortable of saying you did to achieve success and never stop connecting so yes spend your 19800 to meet with friends and flex but still keep some for your things, try as much as possible to maintain the small life a Nigerian graduate is budgeted to live and keep being positive. Because I found out that if you don’t meet the right people, with the right information, with the right mind and your always alive ideas, you would remain in that Nigerian graduate standard of living .
    NB: Route multiple roads to success, getting successful is important but enjoying success is importanter .”do not kill your conscience on the road help people too”

    AO. SULAIMAN

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close